SPIVAKOVSKY Bach to Bloch, Volume Three

"Pristine’s reissues of these recordings of this Russian-born pianist are creating a bit of a stir among pianophiles, especially those with an interest in historic performances. More than a few respected critics are hailing Spivakovsky as a heretofore unknown giant of the keyboard, taking his place alongside Horowitz, Richter, Argerich, and so on..." - Fanfare, 2016

This release of the Russian-born pianist Jascha Spivakovsky features recordings of four pivotal Beethoven Sonatas from key periods of the composer’s output. Spivakovsky had a great affinity for Beethoven - a rare life mask of the composer adorned the wall of his music room - and his daring yet poetic readings demonstrate a fusion of passion with classical structure that mirrors the pianist’s modern approach to Romanticism at the keyboard, whereby the heart of the score is revealed through transparent textures, a polished singing sound, and attentive voicing.

  • BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 8, "Pathétique"
  • BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 14, "Moonlight"
  • BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 26, "Les Adieux"
  • BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata No. 32